Lifespan – May 14, 2011

Posted: May 14, 2011 in Samples of My Writing, Writing Posts

Here is another poem from Time Lapse. This one in memory of my father.

This image for the cover of Time Lapse is another amazing photograph by Marty Gervais

Lifespan
 (for Austen E. Hilles August 27, 1920 – July 16, 1995)

Yesterday a butterfly
Died on our deck
I watched its final
Twitches before
Wings lay flat
Only then did it
Become familiar

I thought of my father
Fifteen years earlier
Going still
In his hospital bed
No one there to notice
He’d stopped breathing

This morning
I found the butterfly’s torn parts
Scattered on the deck
And was comforted
By that rugged chain of command
Each flaw shapes a powerful join

This occurred
On the fifteenth anniversary
Of my father’s death
Each life a trajectory
Under regulated sky
The moving parts made from
Something that was once a tree
And before that a rock
Or bits of soil and before that
A positive charge

Without that butterfly
I wouldn’t have remembered
As clearly that first moment
When my father wasn’t
In the world anymore

A Kindle version of my book Higher Ground can be downloaded from Amazon: Higher Ground

Leave a Reply

