Don’t Know When to Quit – August 27, 2010

Posted: August 27, 2010 in Samples of My Writing

A poem for my father who would have turned 90 today (August 27, 2010). Happy  Birthday Dad wherever you are! This poem is also from PARTAKE.

Don’t Know When to Quit

My father was proudest of me
When I looked to see
The salt he left behind
In his work on the highways
For him faith had broken wings
Angels too busy with music
To notice our missteps
My father worked out in rain and snow
Hoisted into the air
Tender flakes of the unknown
If left to him
There would be more good
Sprinkled out ahead of us
Than there is

Each day my father
Resurrected, drew out of his sleep
What he could still hold onto
Bits and pieces of memories
That never really fit together
All of us are the same, comprised
Of dripping paint and chips of wood.

When I was a boy I
Always thought my father
Was only one man
But he was many
Some spoke with kind loving words
Others barely spoke at all

My father says “Hello son,”
And I pull him into a hug
It’s all a thousand times slower.

Comments
  1. Lloyd Whiting says:

    Hi Bob;Your poem to your father brings back memories of him and yourself.I still live in Kenora.Now I work as a superintendent for a company and am building a school in northern Manitoba at St.Theresa Point on Island Lake.I am just finishing a short holiday in BC.I went fishing with my brother Bud off the west coast of Vancouver Island for 3 days and then went to Vancouver for another 3 days.Very short break but most enjoyable.I am staying with Judy Nordland and her boyfriend Rick.Judy is duing well.She showed me your website.It is great.Thought I would touch base.Hope things are going well.Would love to chat someday.Lloyd

    • Lloyd:

      Wow great to hear from you! Say hi to Judy and I’m glad she’s checked out the site. I will keep posting poems. Are you on Facebook? You can email me. Get in touch I would love to talk too!

      Robert

Leave a Reply

